Florida Point System
In 2012, 13,592 drivers in Florida got their driver's license suspended because of point accumulation. If you receive
a traffic ticket, be careful with how you handle itso you do not get your license suspended.
Remember, you do not get points when you receive a traffic ticket. You only get points when you pay a traffic ticket,
or are found guilty in Traffic Court. You may be able to avoid points on your driver's license by electing traffic school, or hiring a Florida traffic ticket attorney. If you already have points on your license, an experienced traffic ticket attorney may even be able to help you remove them.
Look below to find out the number of points that may be assessed against your driver license
for common Florida traffic violations, or click here to view all of the Florida statutes that deal with traffic violations. Find out if your traffic violation: is classified
as a criminal offense, requires a mandatory Court appearance, carries points, or includes a mandatory revocation or suspension
of your driver's license.
Traffic Violation Points Assessed
Non-Moving violations 0 points
Moving violations (non-speeding,
no accident) 3 Points
Speeding 15 m.p.h. or less over the posted speed 3
Speeding more than 15 m.p.h. over posted speed 4 Points
Passing Stopped school bus 4 Points
violation (non-speeding) resulting in a crash 4 Points
Unlawful speed resulting
in a crash 6 Points
Reckless driving (criminal traffic violation) 4 Points
Leaving scene of crash with damage (>$50) 6 Points
Littering 3 Points
Violation of child restraint laws 3 Points
Amount of Points Time Period Length
12 Points accumulated within 12 Months 30 Days
18 Points accumulated within 18 Months 3 Months
Points accumulated within 36 Months 1 Year
Drivers, age 15-17, who receive 6 points will be restricted to a business purposes only license for 12 months or
until reaching age 18. Restriction time is increased by 90 days for each additional point if additional points are accumulated.
fine amounts indicated on the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Appendix "C" brochure linked
to above only includes the State of Florida portion of the fine. It does not include the city and County portion of the fine.